Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle Epis. 3-10 Impressions + Final Review

chaika

* WARNING

THIS POST WILL BE THE FINAL ANSWER TO MY THOUGHTS ON THIS SHOW. IF YOU TEND TO GET BUTTHURT WHEN PEOPLE JUDGE YOUR FAVORITE SHOWS, PLEASE KINDLY PICK UP SOME BACKBONE OR LEAVE NOW. THIS MAY BE JUDGMENTAL. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!!!

Hey guys, I’m back. Pardon the absence, school’s been a pain and I’m currently in the middle of finals period. That being said, I do need to bring up this judgment on Chaika.  Let this final review of Chaika S2 begin!

chaika5

Chaika started out as a strong fantasy anime during its premiere in the spring season of this year. It not only explored the characters, but also the world of Chaika( a world free from war, yet there are still problems). Yet like many sequels of original shows, Chaika S1 was better than Chaika S2.


chaika6

It was a problem that I feared for when I heard that Chaika S2 only had 10 episodes. With such a short amount of time, and my inner gut telling me this was the last season, I was afraid that rushing would occur. And it did.

Right after collecting one of the pieces of Gaz from Claudia, Toru and the gang head out to find the next owner of the Gaz pieces, Clay Morgan. Upon finding Clay, they discover that he was paranoid after seeing Chaika( another broken hero!). They manage to retrieve his piece but Chaika leaves the group in order to find Gaz’s fortune on a mysterious island. After going after Chaika, and teaming up with Red Chaika and her gang, our heroes discover remnants of the Gaz empire, Gaz’s fortune: A talking transformer gundo named Niva, and the truth about Chaika. It would not be until the second to the last episode that we discover this to be true. This arc only lasted from episodes 3-5. From here on, we see the “rush” start to kick in. And I also felt two more feelings from these last five episodes: The feelings of surprise and “meh.”

chaika7

 

Because I was so deeply intrigued by the mystery that was presented to me about the Chaikas, the surprise factor often hit me hard enough to smash Babe Ruth’s record of home runs. Honestly, I do like suprises, and I was kinda of entertained by them. The problem is maintaining those suprises. Sure, I was surprised to hear the truth about Chaika, but the thought left my mind until episode 9. Sure, Arthur Gaz turns out to be the true villain of the show, but his presence, and speech wasn’t a powerful one. And that’s where the feeling of  “meh.” I mean, Toru became a dragoon cavalier and while it shocked me, the built-up was lost.


chaika8

 

 

So with all that in mind, I magically believe that this show deserves a rating of 7.5 out of 10 and a recommendation of “Recommendable watch.” This is still Chaika, and it has elements of the previous season that remind me why I like this show. The show’s main flaw was that it was rushed. Had the show been about the same length as the previous season, it would not have been rushed and the surprises that popped up throughout the season would have lasted for me.

And that’s it from me. Stay tuned for my next Log Horzion S2 post and my final post on Amagi Brilliant Park near New Year’s.

See Ya!

Leave a Reply

