Amagi Brilliant Park episodes 8-13 + Overall Review

amagi

* WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS AN OVERALL REVIEW OF THIS SHOW AND A PARAGRAPH-LONG RUNDOWN ON THE LAST 6 EPISODES. IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THESE EPISODES OR THE ANIME IN GENERAL, THEN YOU MAY BE ADVISED TO LEAVE AND WATCH THE ANIME FOR YOURSELF. GRANTED THERE’S NOT MUCH ON SPOILERS , BUT NOT THE POINT. AND (SPOILER ALERT) THERE WILL ONLY BE TWO PICTURES IN THIS POST.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!

This post has been long overdue for a while now and I’m sorry that I haven’t gotten to it. But without further ado. Here’s the post!

amagi8

Episodes 8-9, more or less, continue the Amagi’s Path of  “Screw the plot, we have insanity.” Characters receive focus, shenanigans ensue, unforgettable moments occur. But then we get to episodes 10-12, which remind us that the ” plot must go on”(in a clean way). This episode period actually was rather suspenseful, and how Latifah got her sickness was pretty messed up( and you’ll love who actually gave her the sickness to begin with). And last but not least, Episode 13 ended the show with one last plotless episode that, in mere words, shows us what happens when you fuse Monty Python with a Disneyland commercial.

Now for the review…

As always, I discuss the 5 aspects of anime through which I then take into account as I give the final score. Those 5 are Story, Characters, Animation, Sound, and my own personal enjoyment. Now,

amagi9

Damn it, Tiramie! This isn’t a High School Dxd post!

Story- The story, or plot, takes a page out of Outlaw Star and rarely focuses on the plot. The anime is rather episodic. Each week, we get a new episode that focuses on either a specific part of the park that usually ends with adding more characters to help the park’s understaffed crew( they have the budget of Gintoki Sakata for Christ’s sake) or the already existing characters. This takes up 8 of the show’s 13 episodes. While not a bad thing by any means, it does lose points in the story section for not always focusing on the plot. But this section is saved by the moments that stand out in the show.

Characters-Amagi’s cast is as colorful as the many colors on the rainbow. Our main protagonist, Seiya Kanie who, as I’ve stated before, is a perfectionist with a narcisstic personality( I’ll have you guys draw comparisons to other anime characters). We also have Isuzu, our female protagonist, who often acts as the main muscle of the employees and as the Rei Ayanami tsundere clone of the show. There’s also Moffle, Tiramie, and a bunch of other characters that made the Amagi experience enjoyable. I had no real complaints about the characters.

Animation- Typical for Kyoto Animation.

Sound- The OP is my favorite of the fall season. Its addicting.

Enjoyment- When I usually came back from my morning college class last semester, I usually came back to my room and watched Amagi, trying to keep myself from waking up my roommate. The moments always put a smile on my face or made me laugh with joy on the inside. It was sad to see this show end and quite doubtful for a sequel despite the light novel still running.

And with that in mind, I convert all these judgments into numbers by some jank logic only possible in anime in order to give

Amagi Brilliant Park

a

7 .5 out of 10 and a recommendation to put this on your watchlist now.

I was glad to see a good show made by Kyoto Animation again. While Amagi isn’t Haruhi Suzumiya, Hyouka, or any of the Key visual novel adaptations, it was definetly a step toward the right direction.

And with that I bid you adieu.

Keep in tune for when I write about Kantai Collection or Kuroko no Basket 3!

Later Dudes.

One thought on “Amagi Brilliant Park episodes 8-13 + Overall Review

  1. Sherlene says:

    Our research has taken and imported it.

Leave a Reply

